Page 1 of 2

"This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:11 pm
by ben
when I add a 'new' series or story arc, Mylar processes the request when I click 'add new comic' but it takes me to a new url:
example:

Code: Select all

http://LOCAL-IP:8090/addComic?comicid=3641&comicname=Kickers%2C+Inc.&comicyear=1986&comicpublisher=Marvel&comicimage=https://comicvine1.cbsistatic.com/uploads/scale_large/0/4/24618-3641-27388-1-kickers-inc-.jpg&comicissues=12&imported=None&ogcname=None&serinfo=None
But the page never resolves and I get this message:
"This page isn’t working LOCAL-IP sent an invalid response.
ERR_INVALID_REDIRECT"

I feel this is more an issue with my setup than a bug which is why I posted here before posting in GitHub.

I'm hoping it's something simple I can correct but I don't know where to start.

I'm running Mylar3 in FreeNAS 11.3u3.2 iocage jail.
Latest pull on master Version: e29114901810346e52486c8681c6b154639bcf86 (master)

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 3:43 pm
by evilhero
It can't resolve the LOCAL-IP address.

You probably have to either set the mylar host to the exact ip or set it to 0.0.0.0 for it to resolve properly in most cases.

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 3:54 pm
by ben
I apologize for the confusion.
The URL doesn't actually have 'local-ip' in the field.
It has a class C non-routable address: 192.168.1.10
which it the ip of the Jail for Mylar3

The webUI works find for all other buttons and links, but when it's adding a new comic series it fails to resolve it correctly.
If I 'go back' and refresh, the Comic series has been added successfully and I can access it but that initial process has a hiccup.

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:29 pm
by evilhero
It might have something to do with the host values within Mylar. Can you paste in what you have in the config.ini under the [Interface] section?

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 2:51 pm
by ben
Here is the config interface section below. I don't think I have anything special or different.

I just noticed that I CAN'T just browse to http://192.168.1.10:8090 either, the URL has to have /home or I get 'page is not working' error also. (maybe that's normal?)

Any suggestions are welcome.

Code: Select all

[Interface]
http_port = 8090
http_host = 192.168.1.10
http_username = {REMOVED}
http_password = {REMOVED}
http_root = /
enable_https = False
https_cert = None
https_key = None
https_chain = None
https_force_on = False
host_return = None
authentication = 1
login_timeout = 43800
alphaindex = True

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:08 am
by evilhero
Can you try something if at all possible?

Try to temporarily change your authentication from Basic(Browser Popup) to either None or Forms(Login Page).

Can you also confirm, do you have encryption enabled for passwords in the config.ini (encrypt_passwords = True / False)

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:06 pm
by ben
I apologize for the ignorance but what would those values be in the config.ini?
Currently authentication = 1 (is that Basic browser Popup?)
what numeric value would none = 0? or Forms login page =?

Also I don't see a line item for encrypt_password. does that mean it is defaulted to true or false?

Lastly, I had attempted to make changes to the Authentication value but I wasn't seeing any difference.
I assume I need to restart the service after the change. Should I stop the service First THEN make the change?

evilhero wrote: Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:08 am Can you try something if at all possible?

Try to temporarily change your authentication from Basic(Browser Popup) to either None or Forms(Login Page).

Can you also confirm, do you have encryption enabled for passwords in the config.ini (encrypt_passwords = True / False)

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:18 pm
by evilhero
If you're directly editing the config.ini, then for authentication:
- 0 would be None
- 1 would be Basic
- 2 would be Forms Login.

You have to make sure that you are not running Mylar when you edit the config.ini. This is because the values for the ini are loaded at startup / save only. If you change the values when it's running, Mylar has no idea what the new values are and will hammer any manual changes done if you were to hit Save Configuration in the GUI.

You should have an entry in your config.ini for encrypted_passwords, but it would be under the [General] section of the config.ini. It should be set to False by default.

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:46 pm
by ben
Thank you for the direction. That made things much clearer.

OK so testing.
encrypted_passwords is set to false - did not change
authentication was set to 1 - changed to 0, Observed that I did NOT have to log in.

Added Conan 2099 - marvel series, resulted in 'page not found error'
Back paged and refreshed, saw that it had been and was able to enter it.

Choose to delete series including folders, received "500 Internal Server Error"

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/cherrypy/_cprequest.py", line 670, in respond
    response.body = self.handler()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/cherrypy/lib/encoding.py", line 217, in __call__
    self.body = self.oldhandler(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/cherrypy/_cpdispatch.py", line 60, in __call__
    return self.callable(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/mylar3/mylar/webserve.py", line 987, in deleteSeries
    if comic['ComicName'] is None: ComicName = "None"
TypeError: 'NoneType' object is not subscriptable
Powered by CherryPy 5.4.0
I also get an error when I click the 'check for new version' button, which states ' error checking for updates' but then sometimes after that it will tell me there IS an update.

These aren't new behaviors or a result of the config.ini changes but I feel they are associated with the main issue.

I'm tempted to try installing Mylar3 fresh in a new iocage.
Will having two Mylar3 copies running on the same DB cause issues?
If I shut off the Primary Mylar3 and only run the New test version, will that cause issues with the DB moving back to the Primary Mylar3?

Re: "This page isn't working" response after adding new series

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:52 pm
by evilhero
Whoa - your cherrypy is wayy old.

When you installed mylar3, did you do the: pip install -r requirements.txt?

If you do a: pip list, what does that return?

As long as only one mylar is accessing the given db, you won't run into any issues. However, based on that error I think this might be due to not running the requirements.txt file possibly (or without errors)