Update Problem

Post any problems / bugs / issues that are Mylar-related in here.
ShirAhn
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:41 pm

Update Problem

Post by ShirAhn »

Hey,

I have been loving MyLar but I'm not very smart and stuck with an update problem that I hope you guys can help with. The tool says that I am 40 commits behind. I have tried reinstalling and using many "git" commands that google told me to use. Nomatter what I try and do I keep getting stuck. Hopefully you guys can help. Please let me know if you need any additional info.

Image
User avatar
evilhero
Site Admin
Posts: 2883
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Update Problem

Post by evilhero »

It looks like it's trying to update with 3 commits instead of just the latest one, which is causing the problem. I'll have to look into this some more, as this is the first detailed explanation I've received (others have mentioned a problem, but we were never able to track it down).

If you want to update, your best bet is to download the newest tar from github, then backup your config.ini, mylar.db and entire /cache folder. Then wipe the directory where Mylar is installed. Then install the new one that you downloaded, move the backed up stuff back (overwriting stuff if required - but it shouldn't if you haven't run it yet). Then you'll be up-to-date.

Hopefully I can fix the update problem soon with this new info....
ShirAhn
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:41 pm

Re: Update Problem

Post by ShirAhn »

Thank you for your reply, I tried the suggestions that you gave me and it definitely did something. However it now says
"You are running an unknown version, update or close." Any suggestions?

Thank you so much.
**EDIT**
Never mind, I clicked update and it works thank you thank you thank you!!!
disposablehero
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:44 am

Re: Update Problem

Post by disposablehero »

i get this message while updating Mylar:

Code: Select all

25-Nov-2017 11:13:21 - INFO :: MAIN : Mylar is updating...
25-Nov-2017 11:13:23 - ERROR :: MAIN : Git returned bad info. Are you sure this is a git installation?
25-Nov-2017 11:13:23 - ERROR :: MAIN : Couldn't download latest version
25-Nov-2017 11:13:23 - WARNING :: MAIN : Mylar failed to update: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'split'. Restarting.
25-Nov-2017 11:13:23 - INFO :: MAIN : Mylar is restarting...
2
Should I do also a clean wipe?

Thanks
DH
User avatar
evilhero
Site Admin
Posts: 2883
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Update Problem

Post by evilhero »

disposable hero :
Did you do a git install or did you install by source?

If it's by source then try what was suggested above. If it was by git, make sure that you have your git_path variable in the config.ini pointing to the location of your git binary/executable on your system.
michaelphart
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:43 am

Re: Update Problem

Post by michaelphart »

I was having the same issue with Mylar not updating. I used the steps above (Download zip from git, backup, wipe, etc...) to update Mylar. When I started Mylar back up, it showed Unknown version, so I clicked update. It still does not seem to be doing anything.

I only saw two lines in my log between clicking update and the app restarting:

Code: Select all

2017-11-26 20:22:16	INFO	Trying to gracefully shutdown the background schedulers...
2017-11-26 20:22:16	INFO	Received signal: update
I'm running Mylar on Windows 10 x64.
disposablehero
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:44 am

Re: Update Problem

Post by disposablehero »

@michael

i encountered the same issue as your, when i started with a clean wipe. Try the following, in Mylar do a Version check. and then click the update button. after this mylar did correctly update, at least on my machine.

good luck
DH
michaelphart
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:43 am

Re: Update Problem

Post by michaelphart »

I've tried that multiple time and the version still says none and the update popup continues to display. Any help would be appreciated.
jedimole
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 9:19 pm

Re: Update Problem

Post by jedimole »

I was 2 behind and did the update, now Mylar is stuck here

28-Nov-2017 23:27:29 - INFO :: MAIN : Mylar is updating...
28-Nov-2017 23:27:33 - INFO :: MAIN : Mylar is restarting...
28-Nov-2017 23:27:33 - INFO :: MAIN : Restarting Mylar with ['C:\\Python27\\python.exe', 'C:\\Mylar\\Mylar.py', '--nolaunch']
28-Nov-2017 23:27:42 - INFO :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 172.16.1.90
28-Nov-2017 23:27:42 - INFO :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
28-Nov-2017 23:31:09 - INFO :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 172.16.1.90
28-Nov-2017 23:31:09 - INFO :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
Nargath
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:55 am

Re: Update Problem

Post by Nargath »

I'm also getting this error, but now I cannot reopen Mylar!
This was after clicking Update from within the app

Code: Select all

29-Nov-2017 23:25:29 - INFO    :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 192.168.1.101
29-Nov-2017 23:25:29 - INFO    :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
29-Nov-2017 23:26:21 - INFO    :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 192.168.1.101
29-Nov-2017 23:26:21 - INFO    :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
29-Nov-2017 23:28:39 - INFO    :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 192.168.1.101
29-Nov-2017 23:28:39 - INFO    :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
29-Nov-2017 23:28:41 - INFO    :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 192.168.1.101
29-Nov-2017 23:28:41 - INFO    :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
29-Nov-2017 23:28:44 - INFO    :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 192.168.1.101
29-Nov-2017 23:28:44 - INFO    :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
29-Nov-2017 23:28:45 - INFO    :: MainThread : Successfully discovered local IP and locking it in as : 192.168.1.101
29-Nov-2017 23:28:45 - INFO    :: MainThread : Config GIT Branch: development
EDIT
I've managed to fix mine, following some advice on this issue on the GitHub page.

During the latest update, it looks like the git-location entry in the config ini was wiped out.
I added the file location of my git.exe (C:\Program Files\Git\bin\git.exe) back to this location, and re-ran Mylar.vbs.
This allowed Mylar to reopen.
Post Reply